Thursday, May 7, 2015

The Lands of Light: The Mountain Cities

The five Free Cities nearest the Crossing--that narrow point in the Murkenmere where a massed force can move over that great river--are the Mountain Cities, Montfort, Montalban, Monleone, Agrismont, and Monteriano.  The five have many things in common--all are hereditary monarchies, ruled over by a group of dukes whose families stretch back for centuries, in some cases from the era before the Holy Empire.  The rugged terrain and constant threat of invasion have made a hearty people, independent, and fiercely loyal to their rulers...

No comments:

Post a Comment